VAL News

Stewards Report - Ararat Gift 20/12/2014

Posted in: Ararat

Victorian Athletic League

Steward’s report

Ararat    20/12/2014        

Weather     Hot                                       Track Grass

Commentator      Terry McGarity

Starters                Stawell Athletic Club

Finishing equipment   Sue Dunbar, Nila Blennerhassett

Stewards   Brian Marantelli,

Handicappers   Graeme Goldsworthy, Darryl Nettleton, Neale Gunning

General comments


(1)    Athlete Hamish Adams failed to attend the start of the 400 metres open final. Hamish appeared to have left the track before the running of the final. The matter is ongoing.          Both athletes and trainers are reminded of their responsibilities in this regard, all athletes must be aware of VAL rule 11.17. The board of the VAL reminds athletes that stewards do have the option of a suspension under 11.17.

(2)    Steward Brian Marantelli and 400 metre handicapper Darryl Nettleton spoke to Shane Ezard regarding his performance in the final of the open 400 metres final. Shane appeared to be in a winning position on the home turn but failed to run on in the home straight. Shane was advised that when next he appeared in a VAL 400 metre event he should take advantage of his current handicap.

(3)    Sprinter Murray Goodwin was queried as to the loss of time from his impressive heat win to his performance in the second semi final. Queenslander Goodwin pointed out that after competing at Warragul last Saturday he had taken the opportunity to catch up with friends throughout the week and may have neglected his training. The stewards thanked him for his honesty, but he was told in the future he'll be expected to maintain his standard of performance throughout the day

(4)    As a result of an inquiry into interference suffered to Danielle McDowell in the closing stages of the Zatopek 300m final on Thursday 11thDecember Simon Fitzpatrick has been fined $150. Simon pleaded guilty to the charge.



Karlee Bailey

120 metres Gift

Kevin Brittain

Cam Dunbar

James Vine

Murray Goodwin

400 metres Open

Shane Ezard

400 metres Sportzbiz

Brendon Glidden-Green

Warragul prize money not collected, see Brian Marantelli

Ash Sandison, Troy Atkins,