Skip to main content


Start marks are calculated & published for Established athletes in each 'regular event' category only.

On Going Assessed (OGA) athletes will receive the same handicap that they were last allocated in that particular event, subject to adjustment by the handicapper for factors such as winning penalties to be carried forward, breaking of Start Target Time in an event last season, age, or other factors deemed applicable by the handicapper.

For an explanation of Established and OGA criteria, please refer to the VAL Handicap Regulations under 'Athlete Status and Categories'. 

To understand how a 'Start Mark' is calculated, refer to the VAL Handicap Regulations under 'Season Start Marks' HERE

Please note Start Marks are not calculated for Junior, Restricted & non-Regular Events (i.e. 200m events).

If you feel your published 'Start Mark' is incorrect please follow the below steps - 

1. Review the VAL Handicap Regulations HERE

2. If after reviewing the above, you're still unsure, please email and ensure you include the following information:

- Your (or your athletes) Full Name

- Athlete ID

- The event category and distance you seek clarification on (i.e. Masters 300m)

- The details of your concern or query relevant to the category and distance you have identified above. 

Please send handicap queries to 

23-24 Registered TrainersState:
Anne Marie mouri nkengSA
Aaron StubbsQLD
Adrian FuryNSW
Alex LerosiVIC
Andrew DawsonVIC
Angela WilsonVIC
Brad ArmstrongVIC
Brett RobinsonQLD
Brian WrightNSW
Bruce GulliverNSW
Cameron KonnisVIC
Corey RowntreeNSW
Craig FurberVIC
Craig MairVIC
Dan SemmlerSA
Daniel SammutNSW
Dean BentonVIC
Devina StraussNSW
Dylan McGannVIC
Elizabeth SutoNSW
Frank MchughSA
Geoff JonesVIC
Glenn WindshuttleSA
Graeme WatkinsVIC
Ian BurgeSA
John HilditchVIC
John NicolosiVIC
John TicknerVIC
Kate RobinsonQLD
Kelvin LubeckVIC
Kylie NewtonNSW
Leon SaltmarshTAS
Luke HildyardSA
Luke WescombeTAS
Manny LewandowskiVIC
Mark HipworthVIC
Mark ThomasVIC
Martine BeerVIC
Matt BeckenhamACT
Max UnderwoodSA
Max WarlowVIC
Michael BenoitVIC
Michael BucklerSA
Nathan CrowleyVIC
Nick FiedlerVIC
Paul BoultonVIC
Paul TaylorVIC
Peter BurdettSA
Peter O'DwyerVIC
Ray QuarrellTAS
Rob DuynhovenVIC
Rodney MathewsVIC
Sarah O�dwyerQLD
Scott RowsellVIC
Shane McKenzieVIC
Steve MayVIC
Terry McGarityVIC
Tim EschebachNSW
Todd IrelandVIC
Tom MorehouseVIC
Trevor HeightNSW
Wayne PerryVIC